Hyper optimist dates suicidal cynic.

Manoj Pun Tilija
3 min readJan 6, 2021

“Incase I die now, the one piece of advice to you is, Never invest in a restaurant business. Do not open a restaurant business. Unless you want to loose your money slowly.” — Nassim Nicholas Taleb.

In the land of wonder, there was a place called Roma. Intentionally for hosting its romantic dates. Once an unusual couple had a date in Roma. Uvon & Mela are not the people you call complementary but nevertheless, the date was set.

Uvon: Salut! ma numesc Uvon. ce mai faci?

Mela: Sunt Mela. I’m alright.

And the sniff test begins.

Mela: So rosa said you are an artitect.

Uvon: Yes, I am the chief architect for Victor Francesco. Now, I am working at the Temple of Hercules. It’s gonna be a grand temple when it is complete. And what do you do Mela?

Mela: I am a Mortician. I dress dead bodies for their funeral.

Uvon: Interesting. So you make beautiful dress?

Mela: Yeah, for dead ones.

Uvon: Tell me more about ……………….

Mela: ………..and this is how I sewed up his finger.

Uvon: That sounds pretty gruesome.

Mela: I am casual about seeing dead bodies. Now, It doesn’t frighten me anymore.

Uvon: Why do you think it is casual?

Mela: Well, we all die one day. Our bodies will end up turning into ashes or someone's food. And I do not know about awareness. Does this bother you?

Uvon: Yes it does. Consider the person’s story or his potential future.

Mela: Why would it matter? The dead is dead.

Uvon: But you see…….

Now this is certainly not how a typical date ends up. But the intention is to bring the extreme traits of Uvon and Mela.

The extreme traits of a Cold saint & a Flamboyant charlatan intrigues me. If the conversation continued it would either purport one to be a minimalist and shun materialism & consumerism or it encouraged YOLO/YODO, peace & calmness.

But nonetheless, I could never identify myself with either extreme. I could understand and appreciate the position of these extremes. But never take a concrete position with either. Because the contradicting thought would defend themselves. For example: If I tried becoming savings oriented, the thought of youth adventures would allure me. If I tried becoming more outgoing, the vision to grow my business would haunt me. This dilemma repeated itself with different bodies, but I was well aware of its nature.

And finding the middle path or balance method would be bullshit for this argument. Because it would contradict the present priority.

So how did I resolve this contradiction?

With the macro smacro. In my previous article I mentioned the micro vs the macro debate and where should we focus on.

I used the macro smacro to identify the macro and micro aspects of my life. For example: If it is about my forced savings (micro), I prioritize virtues like selfishness, a selfish fuck. If it is about my intellectual discussions, I prioritize virtues like listening, a dumb debator.

The mess occurs when you interchange the scenario of the selfish fuck and dumb debator. My heuristics allows me to find my role.

So, Is balance, the thing you really want? Predictability, steady like a dead beat? or the Do or die scenario, hanging by the cliff?

Do you know what a risk is, and the dangers of taking it or, are you aware of the pit yet you make the jump?

I am not promising you any answers, but what is it that you really want?

This is my wish & my blessing, may you find who you truly are & express it to the world.

Lots of Love, Chao.

--

--

Manoj Pun Tilija

Among the infinite Wisdom, I am lost. An admirer of knowledge & Virtue, a lover of curiosity. A Part-Time Barbarian. https://www.parttimebarbarian.com